Hit enter after type your search item

India's T20 World Cup squad: Pant, Dube and Samson make the squad


Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube and Sanju Samson have all been selected in India's 15-man squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup starting June 1 in the US and West Indies. The team, which was announced on Tuesday afternoon, is led by Rohit Sharma and has Hardik Pandya as vice-captain.
Yuzvendra Chahal, who was not part of India's recent T20I squads for the series in South Africa and at home against Afghanistan in January, has been picked on the basis of his IPL form and is one of the four spin options, along with the left-armer wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav and left-arm spin bowling all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel.

Pant has not played a T20I since his car accident in December 2022 and has worked his way back into the squad with his performances in IPL 2024. His 398 runs in 11 innings have a strike rate of 158.56. Over the course of the season, he has also cleared all doubts about his wicketkeeping.

This is Samson's first selection in a World Cup squad after missing out on Dinesh Karthik in 2022. Like Pant, Samson has been in productive form as captain of Rajasthan Royals, who top the IPL 2024 rankings with eight wins in the competition. nine games. He has scored 385 runs in nine innings so far at a strike rate of 161.08. The inclusion of Pant and Samson left no room for KL Rahul or Jitesh Sharma. While Rahul hasn't played in a T20I since the last World Cup, Jitesh was part of India's recent T20I squads but he has been in poor form this IPL.

Nine of the 15 selected players, including captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, featured in India's 2022 T20 World Cup campaign. Following their semi-final defeat to England, the BCCI made sweeping changes in a bid to deal with younger players to experiment. However, Rohit and Kohli returned to the T20I squad after more than a year's absence ahead of the Afghanistan series at home in January.

That series also marked an international return for Dube, who was top scorer with 124 runs in three innings. His ability to smash spin in the middle overs for Chennai Super Kings in the last two IPL seasons, and his improvement over fast bowling in 2024, made him a compelling selection. Dube's inclusion meant that Rinku, India's designated T20I finisher for the past eight months, could not make it to 15.

Before Rohit's return to the T20I squad in January, India had been largely led by Hardik since the 2022 T20 World Cup, with Suryakumar Yadav stepping in after Hardik injured his ankle during the ODI World Cup last October-November. Suryakumar led India in the five-match T20I series at home against Australia in November and in the three-match series in South Africa in December. The upcoming World Cup will be his first T20I since then, following his comeback in the IPL from an ankle injury and a sports hernia.

Chahal also played his most recent T20I eight months ago and was finally able to play his first T20 World Cup match after playing 80 T20Is over the years. Rahul Chahar was preferred to him in 2021, and in 2022, R Ashwin and Axar Patel featured regularly in India's XI even when Chahal sat out. He has taken 13 wickets in nine matches in IPL 2024 so far, with an economy of 9.00 despite bowling in the death overs.

The squad will leave India for the US in batches, with the first leaving on May 21. This traveling group will consist of head coach Rahul Dravid and other members of the coaching staff, and team members from the IPL 2024 teams left out of the squad. playoffs. The last day of league matches in IPL 2024 is May 19 and the play-offs begin on May 21 before the tournament concludes on May 26.

India will start its World Cup campaign against Ireland on June 5 in New York before playing Pakistan, USA and Canada on June 9, 12 and 15.

Indian squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.
Reserve players: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks : Ad Views :